Better We

In the age of i-this and me before you,

how different can we really be?

And when did “we” become “me”?

I don’t want to be

another mouthpiece for mediocrity.

Different; unique.

Let me be free

from the (in)visible binds of society.

Not alone,

though possibly lonely.

My best self,

a better me.

I want to see

a vision of existence in clarity.

I’ll do the work

make the plans

take the bets

dance full time in a marching band

if only to be

a better me.

A me without i’s

traversing my own trail

but with you;

navigating together.

A better us

each free of i’s, back to we.

About regulardaze

Hi, I'm Sarah. I enjoy photography, dancing, travel, theatre, delicious food, and learning (constantly, about almost everything imaginable). I currently live in Austin, TX. Thanks for sharing in my thoughts and adventures! :)

Leave a Reply

